Home > News > Album News: WA’s Finest Unite as Basement Birds with Album and Tour!

Album News: WA’s Finest Unite as Basement Birds with Album and Tour!

Basement BirdsWestern Australia’s Basement Birds are set to release a physical edition of their self-titled debut this 16th July on Inertia! For the first time, we can unveil the full tracklist, including debut single “Waiting For You” and an exclusive, never-before-heard, CD-only track entitled, “Waterlines”.

Consisting of  Kavyen Temperley (Eskimo Joe), Josh Pyke, Kevin Mitchell (Jebediah, aka Bob Evans), and Steve Parkin,  the four-piece are a unique teaming of Australia’s premiere singer/songwriters, in the tradition of The Travelling Wilburys and The Highwaymen.

The official tracklist for the album can be found below.

01. Waiting For You
02. Bus Stop (feat Julia Stone)
03. Not The One
04. Holly
05. Skin Of The Sky
06. Ghosts
07. Hamilton Hill
08. Hardest Part
09. Reasons
10. Heartache On Radio
11. All That I Feel
12. Cinnamon & Smoke
12. Waterlines (Physical Exclusive)

It would be easy to say that Basement Birds’ debut album came together during an idyllic, boozy long, lost weekend on the coast. But with each of the group’s members already tied up in hugely successful projects, it would take three years for this quartet to start its roll.

“Steve and I have a gazillion hair-brained schemes,” says Kav. “And I was determined that this hair-brained scheme would actually see itself to its end.”

Hair-brained or not, once the idea was set in place its first steps happened in separate corners, bringing the other two protagonists into place. With Steve performing in the Bob Evans touring band at the time, he and Kevin found moments during downtime to pen a worthy first tune, “Waiting For You”. Meanwhile, Josh Pyke had joined Eskimo Joe on a national tour and began exchanging ideas with Kav.

United by a mutual love of Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young and Wilco, the foursome converged on Kav’s home studio in Fremantle, and the entity took shape beyond the idea. Having finally recorded a full-length, the group will now take to the road to bring their distinct brand of indie/folk to the masses.

‘Good Evening & Good Night tour’
(presented by Channel V, Music Max, FasterLouder, Xpress, Beat, Brag, dB, Rave, i98FM)
Adelaide: Thurs 12 Aug @ HQ Adelaide (Buy Tickets)
Perth: Fri 13 Aug @ Astor Theatre (Buy Tickets)
Melbourne: Sat 14 Aug @ Forum Theatre (Buy Tickets)
Newcastle: Wed 18 Aug @ Newcastle Uni (Buy Tickets)
Wollongong: Thurs 19 Aug @ Wollongong Uni (Buy Tickets)
Sydney: Fri 20 Aug @ Enmore Theatre (Buy Tickets)
Brisbane: Sat 21 Aug @ The Tivoli (Buy Tickets)

Check out Basement Birds talking about the process behind their debut single.

Basement Birds – Talking about “Waiting For You”

‘Basement Birds’ is out 16th July on Inertia
Pre-Order Album

Posted in News on June 22nd, 2010 - By George / Tags: , , , , , ,