Home > News > News: Ten Inertia Artists Nominated for Independent Music Awards!

News: Ten Inertia Artists Nominated for Independent Music Awards!

AIR AwardsNominations for the fifth Annual Jagermeister Independent Music Awards (formally known as the Jagermeister AIR Awards) have officially been announced, and Inertia has proved its dominance – with nine of its artists nominated, and a whopping fourteen nominations in total.

Adelaide pop princess, Sia, earned the most nominations – getting the nod for Best Independent Artist, Best Independent Album (‘We Are Born’), and Best Independent Single or EP (“Clap Your Hands”).

In other categories, Sydney’s Bridezilla and Melbourne’s Otouto were nominated for Breakthrough Artist. Sydney’s Space Invadas and Melbourne’s Midnight Juggernauts & Faux Pas were nominated for Best Independent Dance/Electronica Album.

Sydney label, Elefant Traks, dominated the Best Independent Hip Hop/Urban Album category, with three acts – Ozi Batla, Horrorshow and Urthboy – all garnering nominations.

To make things more exciting, Sia, Midnight Juggernauts and Basement Birds are all nominated in the brand new Most Popular Independent Artist (as voted by NOVA listeners) category. Listeners will be able to vote at: www.novafm.com.au/

Inertia wishes all of these artists the best of luck, and is looking forward to watching the awards, when broadcast on 1st October 2010 on Channel [V].