Home > News > News: Inertia Guide to Upcoming Releases (Summer 2011 Edition)

News: Inertia Guide to Upcoming Releases (Summer 2011 Edition)

AdeleIn the final weeks of 2010, Inertia’s staff assembled a list of their Top 10 Albums for the year. But the past is just the past. The future is where the real excitement lies.

The first months of 2011 promise new records from the likes of Adele (pictured), Iron & Wine, Does It Offend You Yeah?, Purple Sneakers DJs, Ghoul, Cloud Nothings, Plutonic & G-Love, Gil-Scott Heron & Jamie XX and countless others.

So, without further ado, here is a rundown of what y’all have to look forward to in the early part of the New Year**. We’ve even included links to where you can grab preview mp3s.

7th January

Purple Sneakers DJs – We Mix You Dance vol. 2 [Boundary Sounds] (mp3)
Kris Needs – Dirty Water: Birth Of Punk Attitude [Year Zero]

14th January
Fefe – Jeune a la Retraite [Cartell]
Metric – Fantasies: 2CD Edition [Metric Music International]
Wire – Red Barked Tree [Popfrenzy] (mp3)

21st January
Iron & Wine – Kiss Each Other Clean [4AD / Remote Control]
Adele – 21 [XL / Remote Control]
Gang Of Four – Content [Gronland] (mp3)
Various – Bossa Nova & the Rise of Brazil Music in the 1960s [Soul Jazz]
Bodi Bill – Town In One [The Music Connection]

28th January
Various – WOMADelaide: Sounds of the Planet 2011 [Cartell]
Lia Ices – Grown Unknown [Jagjaguwar]
Esben and the Witch – Violet Cries [Matador] (mp3)
Jonny – Jonny [Popfrenzy]

4th February
Ghoul – Dunks [Speak N Spell] (mp3)
Asa – Beautiful Imperfection [Cartell]
Cloud Nothings – Cloud Nothings [Rogue] (mp3)
The Twilight Singers – Dynamite Steps [Sub Pop]
The Paradise Motel – I Still Hear Your Voice At Night [Left Over Life To Kill]
Sharon van Etten – Epic [Mistletone]

11th February
Various – So Frenchy So Chic 2011 [Cartell]
La Sera – La Sera [Hardly Art]
Gruff Rhys – Hotel Shampoo [Popfrenzy]
Barrel House – Species Vagabond [Cross Section]

18th February
Plutonic & G-Love – Moonshine Lemonade [Casadeldisco] (mp3)
Toro Y Moi – Underneath The Pine [Mistletone]
Gil Scott-Heron & Jamie XX – We’re New Here [XL / Remote Control]
The Luyas – Too Beautiful To Work [Dead Oceans]
The Cave Singers – No Witch [Jagjaguwar]

25th February
The Death Set – Michal Poiccard [Counter] (mp3)
Jac Stone – Leave Me Here [Amplifire Music]
Stateless – Matilda [Ninja Tune]

4th March
Lanu – Her 12 Faces [Inertia Recordings]
J. Mascis – Several Shades Of Why [Sub Pop]
Jamie Hutchings – Avalon Cassettes [Laughing Outlaw]
Papercuts – Fading Parade [Sub Pop]
Dum Dum Girls – He Gets Me High [Sub Pop]

11th March
Does It Offend You, Yeah? – Don’t Say We Didn’t Warn You [Pod] (mp3)

18th March
Wagon Christ – Tomorrow [Ninja Tune]

1st April
D’Opus & Roshambo – Past Time [Mercury Switch Lab]

** All dates are correct as of 6th January. All are subject to change and many will. That’s just the biz, y’know?

Posted in News on January 6th, 2011 - By George / Tags: , , , ,