21 JULY 2011
  • 1:14pm MP3: M83 – “Midnight City”

    M83′s “Midnight City” is the first track to emerge from his forthcoming double-album. It’s the kinda burning, neon anthem that androids raise their chrome fists to; leaving you wide-eyed with heart aflame.

    Continue Reading
  • 1:11pm Signing: Sharon Van Etten joins Jagjaguwar!
    Sharon Van Etten

    Known for a voice of stark power and subtle refinement, Sharon Van Etten has announced that she has newly signed to Jagjaguwar. Her third full-length album will be released in Australia during early 2012 through Inertia.

    Continue Reading
  • 12:57pm Stream: Mark Pritchard remixes Radiohead!
    Mark Pritchard

    UK-born, Sydney-based producer extraordinaire Mark Pritchard, most recently known as Harmonic 313 and one half of Africa Hitech, has done two remixes of Radiohead’s “Bloom”. The two remixes are available now, along with a Nathan Fake remix of “Morning Mr Magpie”.

    Continue Reading
  • 11:54am Washed Out

    Promising a double-album is no small gesture. Even Jay-Z had to scale back his ambitions when his first attempt didn’t quite cut the mustard. But if any man is up to it, it’s French dreamweaver, Anthony Gonzalez (aka. M83). His epic double-album, ‘Hurry Up, We’re Dreaming’, is set to bless our eardrums this October, with [...]

    Continue Reading
20 JULY 2011
  • 7:58pm Video/MP3: St. Vincent unviels new video teasers; tweet to unlock free mp3
    St Vincent

    American singer-songwriter Annie Clark, better known as St Vincent, is about to release her new album, ‘Strange Mercy’, this September. You can help unlock promo videos for the new album, plus an mp3, all by using your Twitter account.

    Continue Reading
  • 5:52pm MP3: Dum Dum Girls – “Coming Down”
    Dum Dum Girls

    Dum Dum Girls’ “Coming Down” sounds some classic alt-ballad from Triple J’s Hottest 100 1994; the kinda swooning, melancholic tearjerker that Gen Xers still dream of walking down the aisle to.

    Continue Reading
  • 4:55pm Album: Beirut announce new LP, ‘The Rip Tide’

    Zach Condon’s music often parallels the exotic mysteries of world travel. Since Beirut’s last album, ‘The Flying Club Cup’ (2007), sang a love-letter to France (with a 2009 stop-off in Mexico for the ‘March of the Zapotec’ EP), many asked where his songs would voyage next, but few predicted the inward journey Condon takes on ‘The Rip Tide’, an album with the most introspective and memorable songs of his young career.

    Continue Reading
  • 4:09pm Stream: Listen to Shabazz Palaces’ Daytrotter Session
    Shabazz Palaces

    Last week, Seattle-based Shabazz Palaces (aka Palaceer Lazaro, aka Ishmael “Butterfly” Butler) paid a visit to Rock Island to record a Daytrotter Session. Two of the four tracks, “Toooonmiiiight” and “Emblazoned on Ice”, are unreleased and one is from the self-released and self-titled EP. The fourth track, “An Echo From Hosts That Profess Infinitum,” is from the new album, ‘Black Up’, out now on Sub Pop.

    Continue Reading
  • 2:53pm Pictureplane – “Post Physical”

    Check out the new clip for Pictureplane’s “Post Physical”, from the upcoming album “Thee Physical”.

    Continue Reading
  • 2:44pm Washed Out – “Eyes Be Closed”

    Timothy Saccenti, previously known for directing videos for the likes of Battles, Flying Lotus, Chairlift & Animal Collective, amongst others, has teamed up with Alan Bibby to create a beautiful short visual piece for Washed Out’s “Eyes Be Closed”.

    It’s the first single to be taken from the long awaited debut album, ‘Within and Without’.

    Continue Reading
14 JULY 2011