Home > News > Album: Boom Bip announces the release of ‘Zig Zaj’

Album: Boom Bip announces the release of ‘Zig Zaj’

Boom BipBryan Hollon, better known as Boom Bip, is about to release ‘Zig Zaj’, his first album since Neon Neon’s Mercury-nominated ‘Stainless Style’. ‘Zig Zaj’ is due to drop on September 30th courtesy of Lex Records.

Hollon began as a DJ on Cincinnati radio and in a small club playing hip-hop, electronica and jazz. He released an EP back in 1998, followed by a collaborative album, ‘Circles’, with Anticon’s Dose One. ‘Circles’ gained a lot of attention in the UK, perhaps thanks to support from Gilles Peterson and the late John Peel, who thought of Boom Bip as  a “modern day Captain Beefheart”. This led to Hollon being signed by Lex Records, a former sub label of pioneering UK heavyweights Warp Records.

Boom Bip’s first album, ‘Seed to Sun’ was released in 2002, followed by a collection of remixes (2004′s ‘Corymb’).  Hollon then relocated to LA and released 2005′s ‘Blue Eyed in the Red Room’, which saw him move away from sampling and further towards live instrumentation. In 2007 Hollon teamed up with Super Furry Animals frontman Gruff Rhys to form Neon Neon. The following year they released ‘Stainless Style’, earning themselves a Mercury nomination.

The new solo album from Boom Bip features contributions from Luke Steele (Empire of the Sun), Alex Kapranos (Franz Ferdinand), Cate Le Bon (Neon Neon), Money Mark, Josh Klinghoffer (Red Hot Chili Peppers), as well as members of Warpaint and Bon Iver.

You can stream the opening track, ‘All Hands’, below:

Boom Bip - 'Zig Zaj'

Boom Bip – ‘Zig Zaj’

1. All Hands
2. Goodbye Lovers And Friends ft. Alex Kapranos
3. Pele
4. Do As I Do ft. Cate Le Bon
5. Reveal
6. Manabozh ft. Money Mark
7. New Order ft. Luke Steele & Josh Klinghoffer
8. Automation
9. Tumtum
10. Mascot and the Moth

Boom Bip’s ‘Zig Zaj’ is out 30th Sept on Lex Records

Posted in News on August 18th, 2011 - By Leo / Tags: , , , ,