Home > News > News: The Bamboos announce fifth album ‘Medicine Man’ ft. guests Aloe Blacc, Megan Washington, Daniel Merriweather and Tim Rogers

News: The Bamboos announce fifth album ‘Medicine Man’ ft. guests Aloe Blacc, Megan Washington, Daniel Merriweather and Tim Rogers

The Bamboos Medicine ManMelbourne funk and soul outfit The Bamboos have announced the release of their fifth album ‘Medicine Man’, which will be available this 1st of June through Inertia Recordings. The announcement comes following the success of first single “I Got Burned”, which features You Am I’s Tim Rogers on vocals and was named The Music Network’s 4th most added track to radio following release!

Listen to the first single “I Got Burned” here.

Bandleader Lance Ferguson and his nine piece Melbourne outfit The Bamboos have come a long way since forming in 2001. Across their four studio albums to date – ‘Step It Up’ (2006), ‘Rawville’ (2007), ‘Side-Stepper’ (2008) and ‘4’ (2010) – the metamorphosis of The Bamboos has been full of twists and turns, and it continues apace. With ‘Medicine Man’, they are about to unveil another revelatory, forward-looking record brimming with fresh ideas, stellar turns, classic song writing and a brand of multi-layered pop they can truly call their own.

“I’m proud of the arc of the evolution of the band and I think it’s a natural progression of song writing”, says Ferguson.  “We still wear our influences on our sleeves, but it’s definitely music for now.

The current sound of The Bamboos masterfully blends an array of influences from soul, blues and pop to psychedelia, all of which are combined with a perfectly balanced collection of singers on ‘Medicine Man’. Hand-picked featured vocalists have always been part of the set-up (previous collaborators include Lyrics Born and Alice Russell), and the calibre of the guests who were keen to sing on this album is testament to the respect that Ferguson has attained as a musician and bandleader.

Australian superstars Tim Rogers (You Am I), Megan Washington and Daniel Merriweather, alongside international chart-topping sensation Aloe Blacc, all serve to highlight the pop smarts and expertise that is now at the forefront of Ferguson’s songwriting.

The powerhouse singer and regular band member Kylie Auldist, who has sung on the previous two albums, contributes four songs, while Melbourne based Ella Thompson adds a new facet to the band’s sound with her performance on three tracks and her introduction into the live set-up.

In celebration of the release, the band will perform “I Got Burned” with Tim Rogers on the ABC’s Adam Hills in Gordon St Tonight program, which will air Wednesday 4th of April at 8:30pm.

Tracklisting on ‘Medicine Man’
1. I Never ft. Daniel Merriweather
2. Eliza ft. Megan Washington
3. I Got Burned ft. Tim Rogers
4. Cut Me Down
5. Medicine Man
6. Midnight ft. Bobby Flynn
7. What I Know
8. Where Does The Time Go? ft. Aloe Blacc
9. The Wilhelm Scream ft. Megan Washington
10. Hello Stranger
11. Window

‘Medicine Man’ is due out June 1st on Inertia Recordings through Inertia

Posted in News on April 2nd, 2012 - By George / Tags: , , , , , ,