Home > News > News: Brooklyn’s CREEP recruit Sia, The xx, Miike Snow and Lou Rhodes on debut album, ‘Echoes’ – out 9th August!

News: Brooklyn’s CREEP recruit Sia, The xx, Miike Snow and Lou Rhodes on debut album, ‘Echoes’ – out 9th August!

Cystallised from the plaintive calm, tainted emotions and moonlit gloom of predawn New York, Brooklyn electronic duo CREEP will release their debut full-length album ‘Echoes’ this 9th August via Pod (The Knife, Boys Noize) through Inertia.

Entirely self-produced by Lauren Dillard and Lauren Flax and mastered by Chris Coady (Beach House, Zola Jesus), ‘Echoes’ draws together an all-star line-up of collaborators including Sia, Romy Madley Croft (The xx), Andrew Wyatt (Miike Snow), Tricky, Lou Rhodes (Lamb), Alejandra de la Deheza (School Of Seven Bells) and PLANNINGTOROCK.

Dillard and Flax began playing together in 2009, merging their distinct musical backgrounds into a haunting, singular sound—Dillard from her time making visual and sonic art in the late-00s London clubworld and Flax from her years producing for Detroit’s legendary house scene. The Laurens’ secret weapon is a curatorial ear for vocal collaborators, for whose singing CREEP’s music isn’t just a backdrop, but a willing and eager sonic partner.
First bursting into the public consciousness in 2011, CREEP created a wave of buzz with their haunting single, “Days” on Young Turks Records (The xx, SBTRKT) – which featured vocals from Romy Madley-Croft (The xx), a stunning music video by Warren Fisher (Fischerspooner) and remixes by Azari & III and Soul Clap: Watch “Days (feat. Romy Madley Croft)” (YouTube)

Now, the duo present their debut album, ‘Echoes’: the result of an 18-month exercise in determined patience and perfectionism. “We wrote it and produced it,” says Lauren Flax. “So the final mixes had to be everything it could be. We wanted Chris Coady to mix our record—he had just finished Beachouse, Zola Jesus, and Santigold and we loved the sound of those records. We had to wait for him and it was worth it.”

Drenched in dark, macabre atmosphere, ‘Echoes’ overflows with highlights. “You” is anchored by the intertwining vocals of New York’s Nina Sky twins, whilst “Call Her” was made with Tricky and ethereal singer Alejandra de la Deheza (School of Seven Bells). “Animals” features the gorgeous, atmospheric voice of Holly Miranda, “Empty Chrch” features Miike Snow’s Andrew Wyatt and “Vertigo” boasts the smokey intonations of Lamb’s Lou Rhodes.

‘Echoes’ is due out August 9th on Pod/Inertia

Posted in News on May 10th, 2013 - By George / Tags: , ,