Home > News > Nightmares On Wax returns with new album ‘Feelin’ Good’

Nightmares On Wax returns with new album ‘Feelin’ Good’

Nightmares on Wax‘Feelin’ Good’ is the sunkissed new album from Nightmares on Wax, out via Warp through Inertia on the 13th September.

‘Feelin’ Good’ is Evelyn’s most musically opulent work yet, sonically rich with orchestration and strings created in Berlin by Jazzanova arranger Sebastian Studnitzky. The album features long-term collaborator and keyboardist Robin Taylor-Firth, drums by German jazz percussionist Wolfgang Haffner, bass from Paul Powell, percussion from Shovell  (The Drum Warrior) and vocals from Mozez (Zero 7).

Listen to first single “Now Is The Time”:

Best known in Europe for his ground-breaking ‘90s albums ‘Smokers Delight’ and ‘Carboot Soul’, and in America for the cinematic lo-funk of 2006’s ‘In A Space Outta Sound’, Evelyn’s recording career and contemporary Balearic vision, filter into the contagious, genial bounce of his seventh studio outing.

A major influence on his forthcoming album and live show is Evelyn’s own club night Wax Da Jam, hosted at Ibiza’s oldest club Las Dalias. Here he soundtracks a night of groove, experimentation, percussion and improvisation, alongside guests such as DJ Shadow and Roots Manuva.

It’s all about Feelin’ Good… “It’s been pivotal to my music making,” he says, “and also made me think about the new concept of my live show. I’ve done the full band thing and the sound system thing and now I really want to marry the two and to do so with a real live percussive edge.”

Feelin’ Good’ is out on the 13th September on Warp through Inertia

Posted in News on July 20th, 2013 - By Leo / Tags: , , ,